Part 2

A tour of Ancoats gave me an information and facts ‘top up’ from the street art tour of the northern quarter I independently went on late last year. The Ancoats tour did however show me one or two things that I didn’t already know and it was great to be in the company of someone so knowledgeable about the area again. We were shown around the area via walking tour, the weather wasn’t great but it didn’t effect anything too drastically. The peep holes were not something new to me, however I did learn more about the story behind them.

IMG_9323

Later that day we had an urban sketching session lead by Simone. I was looking forward this as sketching is one of my strong points. We had an hour to find something interesting and draw it. I set off in a small group but quickly found myself alone in a car park having found an interesting building to draw. The composition is an important aspect of any drawing, so when drawing buildings, you can cheat this task by choosing the right thing to draw. After an hour past (very quickly) it was time to regroup and put all our work together for everyone to see. Many people find this daunting and aren’t keen to reveal their work. I must admit, I did used to feel this way, but after years of studying art and sharing my work it has become normal. Seeing all the different drawings is a great way to finish the session, it invites people to talk about each other’s work and see what worked well and what could be improved.

Towards the end of the week we were set another small project. Again in small groups, a mixture of Interior Design and 3D Design students, we were told to individually teach a skill to someone else in the group, and be taught a skill. I taught a bit of Photoshop, and learned about ceramics. The slide below was created by myself and presented in a slideshow at the end of the day which showcased everything that everyone learned.

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 15.17.02

Leave a Reply

