Foundation Review

Field trips to Aberystwyth and Berlin opened my eyes to the diversity, not just in culture, but art and how it is received, presented and respected. I enjoyed making early on, starting small and developing a concept using a number of materials e.g. paper, grey-board, ceramics, and various other methods e.g. printing, drawing, writing and digital work. I benefitted from structured research task handouts, which I know will improve the structure of my own investigations in the future. Pathway choice came quite easily having swerved away from my original desire to work on an image based, 2D project, to wanting to involve 3D elements. The fine art pathway made this concept possible.

f i n a l   m a j o r   p r o j e c t   ( f m p )   c o n c e p t

A staggering 95% of government expenditure on housing is spent on housing benefit, and just 5% is spent on building new homes… It is no longer an option to leave the government to deal with this problem, but time to work with it ourselves. Studying Interior Design at University, I am working on similar projects, taking an existing building/space and repurposing it for the benefit of the community surrounding it, concentrating on a human scale. I intended to challenge one of the many issues the UK is facing such as a growing and ageing population, a shortage of space (mainly in cities), less disposable income, physical inactivity, fewer schools and high divorce rates, using as many of my skills as possible but most importantly, a whole heap of creative and innovative thinking to come up with a solution. All of these ‘problems,’ effect where and how we can or can not live, however there are a number of ways that we can address them; building reuse, contemporary insertions, shared spaces for living, using ‘leftover’ spaces, refurbishing our existing homes and new housing models and structures. Using an already accomplished art movement to support my ideas benefitted development no end. Contemporary design, notably the Bauhaus, De Stijl movement and some Scandinavian references are somethings I used to draw ideas from. Focusing on a creative concept rather than a scientific and precise idea allowed me to physically do more work due to the limited available time I had for this project. Encountering obstacles during my FMP was a guarantee, however I strongly believe, still today, that error breeds sense, so as long as I understand and document why the problem has occurred, it will not be a problem. Evaluating my project throughout was key to successful development and essentially a good grade, it allowed me to reflect on what went well and what could be improved on. Throughout my project I kept a notebook and sketchbook to document everything I found, whether it be information from the internet or any drawings I did. I used my camera to photograph visits to relevant buildings and models I made. These models may be simple paper maquettes, planar shapes using ceramics, or high finished, quality architects models. My blog was a useful tool in publishing and sharing important findings and finally, feedback from my teachers, peers, and interior designers/architects.

Leave a Reply

